Kolkata, May 12 IANS | 11 months ago

The Election Commission Monday said re-polling will be held in 11 polling stations Tuesday in six of the nine Lok Sabha seats that went to hustings April 30 for the third phase of the polls in West Bengal.

Chief electoral officer (CEO) Sunil Gupta said repolling will be held in 11 booths in Arambagh, Hooghly, Burdwan, Burdwan-Durgapur, Birbhum and Bolpur Tuesday.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) led Left Front, BJP and the Congress had alleged massive rigging and booth capturing by the ruling Trinamool Congress during the third phase and sought repolling in a large number of booths.

However, the CEO then had rejected their demands claiming the polls to be "free and fair" which eventually led to the CPI-M pointing fingers at state's special observer Sudhir Kumar Rakesh.

Deputy Election Commissioner Vinod Zutshi in Delhi April 30 had assured of scrutinising the report of election observers and the video recordings related to allegations of booth capturing.

"If the reports are found to be true, we may go for repoll in those booths," he had said.

(Posted on 12-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries