Chandigarh, May 9 UNI | 3 months ago

As many as 34 teams, including three new comers, have staked their claims for the top honours in the 4th Hockey India Sub-Junior Men National Championship 2014 at Kala Bhavan Hockey Ground and ONGC Pavilion Ground in Vadodra, Gujarat from May 10 to 25 and May 17 to 25 at Morabadi Hockey Stadium in Ranchi.

Vidarbha Hockey Association, Hockey Citizens XI and Hockey Gangpur-Odisha will make their debut. The teams have been divided into two Divisions - A and B. While Division A will have 16 teams in the group, Division B will have 18 teams in their group. Division A will further be divided into 4 Pools consisting of 4 teams each and in Division B, Pool A and B will have 5 teams each and 4 teams in Pool C and D.

The matches will be played in a phased manner with Division B first completing its sets of matches and the same will be played from May 10 to 18. Teams under Division A will play their matches from May 17 and will continue till May 25 at Morabadi Hockey Stadium in Ranchi.

The inaugural match of the season of Division B will be played between Assam Hockey and Vidarbha Hockey Association on Pitch 1 and Hockey Himachal Pradesh and Citizens Hockey XI on Pitch 2. Defending Champions Hockey Odisha will play their first match against Chhattisgarh Hockey and which will be played on Pitch 1 on the inaugural day of Division A. Last year's Runner Up, Hockey Jharkhand will take on Hockey Andhra Pradesh in its first match of Pool B - Division A match. Speaking on the occasion Ms. Elena Norman, CEO, Hockey India said 'These championships are a big platform for young players to showcase their talent and we always aim at giving such opportunities to these players which helps them go forward and make a career in this game. Like last year this year too we are looking forward to great hockey being played amongst the players and teams.'

(Posted on 10-05-2014)