Mumbai, May 8 The Congress party decided today to contest all five Graduate and Teachers' constituencies in Maharashtra, the election for which would be held on July 19. UNI | 3 months ago

A decision to this effect was taken in a meeting held here, wherein both Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan and MPCC president Manikrao Thakare decided to contest all five seats in the state in forthcoming MLC election, instead of giving support to other party candidates, Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) spokesperson Sachin Sawant said.

It was also decided to appoint a senior party leader as convenor for these elections, he added.

The five constituencies going to polls are Pune (graduate), Pune (teacher), Aurangabad (graduate), Amravati (teacher) and Nagpur (graduate).

At present, the Pune Graduate constituency is represented by BJP's Chandrakant Patil, Pune (teacher) by Bhagwan Salunke, Aurangabad (graduate) by Satish Chavan of NCP, Amaravati (teacher) by Vasantrao Khotare and Nagpur (gradudate) by BJP's Nitin Gadkari.

(Posted on 09-05-2014)