Mumbai, May 8 Shivajirao Bapusaheb Deshmukh has been unopposed elected as Maharashtra Legislative Council Chairman for the third term. UNI | 2 months ago

During the one-day special session of Legislative Council held here today, Mr Deshmukh was elected unopposed as Chairman of legislative council for the third term consecutively from 2004.

He had filled four application for the contest of the Chairman election proposed and seconded by several members including Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan and Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Manikrao Thakre.

After discussion with opposition leaders and other parties, no other application was filed for the post.

Meanwhile, the Chief Minister announced the name of Vinod Tawade, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLC as leader of the opposition in the Legislative Council.

Earlier, introduction of newly elected Member of Legislative council was done on the floor of the House.

(Posted on 09-05-2014)