Tuesday, February 09 2016

Home > News > Andhra Pradesh News

About 80 percent polling in Seemandhra, 20 injured in clashes

Posted on May 07 2014 | IANS

Hyderabad, May 7 : About 80 percent of 36.76 million voters cast their votes to choose their representatives from 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh's Seemandhra region where high turnout and sporadic clashes marked Wednesday's balloting.

Around 20 people were injured in clashes between activists of rival parties.

Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal said 77 percent polling was recorded till 6 p.m. but those standing in queues were allowed to vote even after the deadline. He told reporters here Wednesday night that the reports from the district collectors suggest that the polling may touch 80 percent. The final turnout figures are expected late in the night or Thursday.

Guntur district recorded 83 percent polling while the lowest turnout of 73 percent was registered in Visakhapatnam district.

Telangana, which went to polls in the first phase on April 30, had recorded 70.85 percent polling.

Polling came to an end in two Maoist-affected assembly constituencies at 4 p.m. and in eight other constituencies at 5 p.m. In the remaining assembly constituencies, the polling ended at 6 p.m.

Suspected Maoists damaged two electronic voting machines (EVMs) in a polling centre in Paderu constituency in Visakhapatnam district. The five attackers including a woman also damaged a government vehicle.

"We have recommended to the Election Commission to order repolling," Bhanwarlal said. The CEO said barring this incident, the polling was smooth and peaceful.

Six people were injured in a clash between YSR Congress Party and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) activists in Parachur in Prakasam district.

Three police vehicles were damaged in an attack by villagers in Devagudi in Jammalamadugu of Kadapa district.

Inspector General of Police Surender Babu said two policemen were injured in the attack. TDP candidate in Narasaraopet Lok Sabha constituency R.Sambasiva Rao's convoy was attacked allegedly by YSRCP supporters. The TDP leader was escorted to safety by his security guards while his vehicle was damaged in the attack.

Tension prevailed in temple town of Tirupati Wednesday night as supporters of the YSRCP and TDP clashed. Police arrested YSRCP candidate B. Karunakar Reddy and TDP's Venkatramna.

Director General of Police Prasada Rao said polling was peaceful barring minor incidents in some places.

Long queues were seen since early morning at most of 40,709 polling stations in 13 districts.

As many as 36.76 million people were eligible to vote in nine districts in coastal Andhra and four in Rayalaseema.

Seemandhra, as the two regions are together called, will come into being as a separate state of Andhra Pradesh June 2 with the formation of Telangana.

As many as 335 candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha while 2,241 contestants are testing their political fortunes in the assembly polls.

Over 100,000 police personnel and 272 companies of central paramilitary forces had been deployed as part of the security arrangements.

The most prominent among the contestants for the Lok Sabha are cabinet ministers and Congress leaders Kishore Chandra Deo (Araku) and Pallam Raju (Kakinada), YSR Congress honorary president Y.S.Vijayamma (Visakhapatnam) and former central minister D. Purandeswari of BJP (Rajampet).

In the assembly polls for Seemandhra, chief ministerial hopeful and TDP state president N. Chandrababu Naidu is contesting from Kuppam assembly constituency.

Another chief ministerial aspirant and YSR Congress president Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy is fighting his first assembly election from the family stronghold of Pulivendula.

Latest News: