New Delhi, May 7 IANS | 6 months ago

Thousands of commuters were left stranded Wednesday evening as a technical snag hit Delhi Metro's Blue Line during the evening rush hour, causing delay and overcrowding at many stations for about an hour, before the fault was rectified, officials said.

The Blue Line operates from Dwarka to Noida City Centre/Vaishali terminals.

"Due to the snapping of an overhead electrical wire near Indraprastha station, no services were available between Yamuna Bank and Barakhamba (Road) since 6.40 p.m.," said a statement from the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC).

"The problem was rectified at 7.35 p.m. and normal services were restored afterwards," added the statement.

Due to the fault, three stations between Yamuna Bank and Barakhamba Road - Indraprastha, Pragati Maidan and Mandi House were shut down.

As a result, crowds swelled at many platforms along the route - one of the busiest in the capital - that links Dwarka on the west edge of Delhi with Noida and Vaishali in neighbouring Uttar Pradesh.

Train services were available in loops from Dwarka to Barakhamba and Yamuna Bank to Noida/Vaishali.

As per many stuck commuters, the snag developed around 6 p.m. which is peak rush hour and resulted in overflowing at many stations. The spill-over affect could be seen at stations as far as Noida Sector 18.

Those who decided to take the autos and taxis instead were fleeced.

"I waited for the over an hour (for the service to resume), and then decided to take the auto (rickshaw) home. But all of them were occupied and the rest were demanding double the normal fare," said Ankita Kapoor, a 19-year-old student who was stuck at the Noida Sector 18 station.

Agreed 40-year-old Rajeev Sharma, who too had a harrowing time at the Yamuna Bank station.

"I took the train from New Ashok Nagar and got off at Yamuna Bank due to the snag. All the autos and taxis were fleecing us," he said.

(Posted on 07-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |