Hyderabad, May 7 IANS | 6 months ago

While polling in Telangana last week was peaceful, the apprehensions of violence in Seemandhra came true Wednesday as clashes between activists of the YSR Congress and the TDP marred the balloting.

More than 20 people were injured as the activists of rival parties clashed in the politically volatile Rayalaseema and south coastal Andhra districts.

Despite unprecedented security arrangements, the supporters of the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the main contenders of power in Seemandhra, attacked each other near polling stations.

Accusing each other of indulging in rigging and other electoral malpractices, the groups pelted stones.

In Kadapa district, a police contingent came under attack from unidentified assailants. Two policemen were injured and three vehicles were damaged in the attack in Jammalamadugu.

According to Inspector General of Police Surender Babu, some senior police officials were also assaulted.

"We have registered a case and on the lookout for the attackers," he said. The police official said those involved in the attack were unhappy with the officials for coming down heavily on violations of Model Code of Conduct.

YSRCP workers allegedly attacked TDP candidate in Jammalamadugu assembly constituency Ramasubba Reddy. Two TDP polling agents were also kidnapped.

TDP candidate in Narsaraopet R. Sambasiva Rao's convoy also came under attack in Guntur district. Samasiva Rao was escorted to safety by his security guards.

YSRCP activists also allegedly attacked media camerapersons in Nadavaluru in Chittoor district when they were heading towards the village after reports of the attack on polling personnel.

Clashes were reported from Kadapa, Anantapur and Kurnool districts in Rayalaseema and Guntur and Prakasam districts in south coastal Andhra.

In the only incident in Maoist affected areas, the extremists damaged two electronic voting machines (EVMs) at one polling station in Paderu constituency in Visakhapatnam district.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Bhanwarlal has recommended re-poll in the polling booth.

(Posted on 07-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |