Kolkata, May 6 UNI | 3 months ago

The All India Football Federation's Club Licensing Committee - First Instance Body - will meet at the AIFF Headquarters in Football House, New Delhi on May 21.

The committee shall issue the National and AFC licenses to the applicants for the 2014-15 season. The AIFF had conducted an inspection of the 12 clubs back in March. Royal Wahingdoh who won the second division and thereby got promoted to the top division shall be inspected later this week.

'The call will be taken on the basis of the documents provided by all the parties concerned and the Inspection conducted by the AIFF Inspection Team,' AIFF sources said here toady..

The Committee comprises of Chairman Dr. Girija Shanker Mungali, FIFA Regional Developmental Officer for South and Central Asia Dr Shaji Prabhakaran, Advocate Ushanath Banerjee, and Punkaj Jain, Chartered Accountant, and Airtel I-League CEO Sunando Dhar.

Apart from Pune FC who fulfilled the Licensing criteria in the first year itself, all other Clubs were given a one-year exemption to comply with the same for the just-concluded Season.

The 14 Clubs in question are Bengaluru FC, Dempo SC, Pune FC, Salgaocar SC, Churchill Brothers, East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Sporting Clube de Goa, United SC, Mumbai FC, Rangdajied FC, Shillong Lajong FC, Mohammedan Sporting, and Royal Wahingdoh FC.

Licensing is an annual process where all clubs eligible to compete based on sporting merit need to have a License under the AIFF's Indian Club Licensing system.

(Posted on 07-05-2014)