Mumbai, May 3 IANS | 6 months ago

The Maharashtra Congress Saturday sounded the bugle for the upcoming assembly election by deputing co-ordinators to all 288 seats to assess the pre-poll ground reality.

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan said this was part of the overall strategy of the Congress to strengthen the party organisation and select good candidates.

"This does not mean that we shall be contesting all the 288 seats on our own," Chavan clarified, referring to ally Nationalist Congress Party with which it hopes to capture the state government for a fourth consecutive term.

In the 2009 assembly elections, the Congress fought on 166 seats and NCP contested 122 seats.

Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee chief Manikrao Thakre addressed a meeting of all district party committee chiefs and other office-bearers as a pre-poll planning exercise involving the grassroots organisation.

Thakre is reported to have instructed all the lower-level party leaders to ensure proper coordination with their NCP counterparts and not to spoil the pre-poll atmosphere with local level bickerings.

Both Chavan and Thakre admitted that in view of the intensive negative propaganda of the Bharatiya Janata Party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, it has become a challenge for the Congress to effectively put forth its developmental works and achievements before the electorate.

The duo assured that if there were any loopholes in the campaigning for the Lok Sabha polls, these would be overcome in the assembly election.

As many as 15 of the 27 candidates who contested the parliamentary elections attended the meeting.

(Posted on 03-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |