Amritsar, May 1 IANS | 6 months ago

Punjab revenue minister Bikram Singh Majithia was Thursday ordered by the Sikh high priests to do religious penance at the five temporal seats (Takhts) of the Sikh religion after he distorted a religious hymn during a political event.

The five high priests (jathedars or chiefs) of these temporal seats met at the Akal Takht in Amritsar, the highest temporal seat of the Sikh religion, Thursday to consider Majithia's unconditional apology.

Majithia has been asked to carry out voluntary service (sewa) at each of the five Takhts for three days each, Akal Takht Jathedar Giani Gurbhachan Singh said.

The five Takhts are Akal Takht (Amritsar), Takht Keshgarh Sahib (Anandpur Sahib-Punjab)), Takht Hazur Sahib (Nanded-Maharashtra), Takht Patna Sahib (Patna-Bihar) and Takht Damdama Sahib (Talwandi Sabo-Punjab).

Majithia has been asked to organise religious prayers at the Akal Takht after doing penance. He has also been asked to organise a "langar" (free community kitchen).

Majithia distorted a religious hymn "De Hoshi Vaa Var Mohe Hain...." in Amritsar April 24 by adding the name of the BJP-Akali Dal joint candidate Arun Jaitley in it to impress people being addressed by the latter.

Jaitley is locked in a fierce electoral fight with Congress candidate and former chief minister Amarinder Singh for the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat.

Subsequently, complaints were made to the high priests that Majithia had hurt the religious sentiments of Sikhs.

Following the orders of the high priests, Majithia told the media here he would carry out the directions.

(Posted on 01-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |