New Delhi, April 30 IANS | 6 months ago

Congress leader Manish Tewari has tendered an "unconditional apology" to former BJP chief Nitin Gadkari for for allegations against him relating to Adarsh housing society controversy, the BJP said Wednesday.

According to a Bharatiya Janata Party press release, Tewari, the information and broadcasting minister, made a written submission in the court of additional chief metropolitan magistrate, Mumbai.

"I state that in future, I will never put you in disrepute by making any comments with regard to the Adarsh Society," Tewari also said in his submission.

Tewari, in his capacity as Congress spokesperson, had made a statement at a press conference on Nov 10, 2010, alleging that Gadkari owned a benami flat in the Adarsh Society.

Gadkari had filed a criminal defamation suit against Tewari after he refused to apologize for the allegations.

In his submission, Tewari said: "I state that, after perusal of the newspaper reports egarding the judicial commission appointed to investigate the Adarsh Society scam, it reveals that you (Gadkari) have not played any role or you have any concern of whatsoever nature with the scam."

"Therefore, now I understand that whatever statements I had addressed in the press conference on Nov 10, 2010, which were aired in electronic media and printed on Nov 11, 2010 in print media, were not related to the true facts."

"I understand that, by such statements you have to suffer huge disrepute and have to face uncomfortable situation within your party and the society. Therefore, by this communication, I tender my unconditional apology for the allegations made against you," said Tewari.

The release said that Gadkari had moved the court with a plea to withdraw his petition in view of the unconditional apology tendered by Tewari.

(Posted on 01-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |