Dubai, April 29 IANS | 6 months ago

Kings XI Punjab beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by five-wickets as they finished off the United Arab Emirates (UAE) leg of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on a five-match winning streak here Monday.

At the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, the heroes for Kings XI were the bowlers, who put on a brilliant show to restrict the star-studded Royal Challengers batting to 124/8 in 20 overs.

In reply, Kings XI Punjab cruised home to 127 for five with seven balls to spare after Virender Sehwag top scored with 32. David Miller made 26 while Rishi Dhawan remained unbeaten on 23.

For Kings XI captain George Bailey, things went in his favour right from winning the toss.

Though the hard-hitting Chris Gayle gave them some scare with a seven-ball 20 but Royal Challengers couldn't recover from young pacer Sandeep Sharma's (3/15) triple strikes at top of the order.

Sharma struck twice in his first over to get rid of both Gayle and Royal Challengers captain Virat Kohli (4) and then came back in his second to remove Parthiv Patel (2).

It was Yuvraj Singh, the costliest player this season, who then rescued the innings with a valuable 35 but could not take the team to a fighting total.

Kings XI fast bowler Mitchell Johnson did well for his two for 19 while Rishi Dhawan got two for 14.

While chasing, Sehwag gave Kings XI a brisk start with his 26-ball 32 that had four fours. Their star batsmen Glen Maxwell managed just run-a-ball six before becoming Varun Aaron's second victim.

But Miller and Dhawan assured the team got home safely in a small chase.

(Posted on 29-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |