Margao, April 27 IANS | 6 months ago

I-League champions Bengaluru FC make a return to Goa exactly a week after they rewrote Indian football history, taking on Sporting Clube de Goa at the Nehru Stadium in Fatorda here Monday.

Ashley Westwood's history men became the first club in the League's history to win the championship in its debut season beating Dempo 2-4 at the same stadium and the Englishman will want his team to end the season on a memorable high.

With the title sealed, Westwood could be tempted to rest a few of his regular starters, making way for the younger lot. A suspended John Menyongar and Thoi Singh should see Darren Caldeira starting.

Goa has been a happy hunting ground for Bengaluru who have won three out of three games in the beach city and Oscar Bruzon's Sporting are well aware of the fact. Though the hosts cannot progress beyond 4th position, Sporting would be keen to exact revenge of the 5-3 defeat by Bengaluru in the Federation Cup. The only other game the two sides have played was a 0-0 draw at Bangalore in the League.

Much of Monday's focus will be on Bengaluru skipper Sunil Chhetri who stands the chance to finish the League as top scorer. Chhetri is tied on 14 goals with Shillong Lajong striker Cornell Glen who failed to build a lead, not scoring in Sunday's 1-2 loss to Mohun Bagan.

Chhetri has been a revelation on the left - a position he had never played in before Westwood decided to use him there.

"We are really looking forward to end the season in the same professional manner we have shown all through the campaign. It is going to be a good occasion for the players to play in, knowing they will be going into the game as champions. It's something that the players should really be proud of," said Westwood on the eve of the game.

(Posted on 27-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |