Mumbai, Apr. 27 ANI | 6 months ago

A section of aggrieved voters in Mumbai returned to polling booths to cast votes on Sunday as the Election Commission announced re-polling in four polling stations following malfunctioning of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) during voting in sixth phase of mammoth elections.

Voters from Malad, Kandivali and Chandivali areas in Mumbai headed back to four polling stations.

Election Commission officials acknowledged that lack of coordination between authorities had led to some lapses and promised to fix the problem before local elections due later this year.

Voters expressed inconvenience over re-polling after the technical glitches.

"That day (sixth phase of polling), the machines were malfunctioning and they announced that it was out order. Later, they told the machine was functioning and asked us to vote. However, later it was known that machines were not working and no vote was counted. So today I came back to cast my vote," said a voter, Mohammed Shameem.

"Being a candidate I apologise to voters for the inconvenience. I assure them that once Modi government is formed, all such kinds of irregularities will be rectified. The authorities who are given salaries should work with responsibility and this kind of error could have been avoided. Irresponsibility towards official work is also corruption," said BJP candidate in Mumbai parliamentary constituency, Gopal Shetty.

Likewise, candidate of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Mumbai parliamentary constituency, Satish Jain, also felt aggrieved over re-polling.

"Some people left thinking that polling is over, so political parties will suffer loss. Time will tell how much loss has been incurred to whom. I feel that what has happened is not good," said Jain.

(Posted on 27-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |