Kolkata, April 23 IANS | 6 months ago

The Election Commission Wednesday said it would keep tabs on the Lok Sabha polls in West Bengal Thursday via electronic media, fax and emails addressed to the state chief electoral officer as well as helpline complaints.

Six seats spread over four districts - Muslim-majority Malda and Murshidabad, besides North Dinajpur and South Dinajpur - are up for grabs in phase two of the Lok Sabha polls in the state Thursday.

As many as six TV channels will be monitored by poll panel officials Thursday to tackle incidents and complaints reported by the media.

The commission will also watch out for complaints registered at the helpline number (1950) and will pay attention to grievances that come through fax and emails.

"We will keep watch through all the four platforms. After we see a particular incident or complaint on the channels, we will get in touch with the respective district magistrates for necessary action," officer on special duty Amit Roy Chowdhury told reporters here.

"Later, we will issue feedback to the media houses that the issue has been resolved and request them to telecast the same," he said.

(Posted on 23-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |