Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > West Bengal News

Polling in six constituencies in West Bengal tomorrow

Posted on Apr 23 2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, Apr 23 : Polling will be held to six parliamentary constituencies in West Bengal in the General Elections to Lok Sabha 2014 on Thursday.

This is a second poll day in West Bengal (sixth poll day in the country) when a total electorate of more than eighty-three lakhs twenty thousand in the six constituencies namely 5- Raiganj, 6 - Balurghat, 7- Maldaha Uttar, 8 - Maladaha Dakshin, 9 - Jangipur and 11 - Murshidabad are to exercise their franchise.

As many as 9755 polling stations have been set up and 1294 EVMs would be used for Thursday's polling.

Voting will take place between 7 am to 6 pm.

There are altogether 78 candidates in the fray.

The maximum number of candidates (17) is contesting from Maldaha Dakshin while the minimum number of candidates (11) is in Jangipur.

There are 12 candidates each in Rajganj, Balurghat and Murshidabad and 14 in Maldaha Uttar.

There are 2 women candidates in the fray from Maldaha Uttar and one each from Rajganj and Balurghat.

Of the recognized national and state parties, BJP, BS , INC and AITC are contesting in all the 6 constituencies while CPI(M) has fielded candidates in 5 constituencies and RSP in 1.

There are 40 candidates of the registered political parties (other than the recognized national and state parties) are in the fray.

As many as 8 Independent candidates are also contesting from the 6 constituencies.

It may be mentioned that 4 parliamentary constituencies in West Bengal namely Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, Alipurduars and Darjeeling went to the polls on the first poll day of in the state (fifth poll day in the country) on last Thursday (Apr 17).

Latest News: