Kolkata, April 21 IANS | 6 months ago

In a bid to increase voter turnout in north Kolkata, the Election Commission Monday launched a music video as part of its Systematic Voter Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) activities.

The nearly four minute audio-visual, showcasing people from diverse backgrounds of the North Kolkata Lok Sabha seat, is targeted at residents of the Chowringhee and Jorasanko assembly seats.

"The voter turnout of the two assembly segments are below 60 percent and this music video will reach out to the masses there to encourage them to vote," Durgadas Goswami, district officer, Kolkata North, told reporters here.

Christened "Aamra Sadhin (We are Independent)", the video spans across the narrow alleys and by-lanes of the localities and includes images of icons like the Coffee House and Jorasanko Thakurbari, the ancestral home of Nobel laureate poet Rabindranath Tagore.

The album will be heard and seen across metro stations, local cable networks, multiplexes and canters sweeping the constituency.

The ten characters shown in the visual represent all sections of society - from hand rickshaw pullers to maid servants, from homemakers to the youth.

(Posted on 21-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |