Chandigarh, Jan 24 IANS | 9 months ago

Terming tax concessions for industrial investment in Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand "discriminatory", Punjab's ruling Shiromani Akali Dal Friday demanded that the state should be given the same tax concessions at par with these two hill states.

Led by Akali Dal president and Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, a delegation of Akali Dal and alliance partner Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Friday submitted a memorandum to Governor Shivraj Patil pointing out the discriminatory policies of the central government towards the state.

Badal charged the UPA government with trying to sabotage the Punjab government's recent move to rope in over Rs.65,000 crore industrial investment which industrial houses and commercial establishments promised during the recently-held Progressive Punjab investors' summit.

"The action of the Congress-led central government to extend tax concessions to the neighbouring states and denying the same incentives to Punjab seems to be a well-entrenched conspiracy to sabotage the plans of the state government to usher in an era of unprecedented industrial development here," he alleged.

Badal claimed Punjab needed a special industrial package more than other states as it had a 550-km international border with a hostile neighbour and had borne the brunt of attacks in two wars with Pakistan in 1965 and 1971.

He also said that Punjab suffered locational disadvantage, being a land-locked state.

"Punjab is not against the grant of these tax concessions to any neighbouring state, but the denial of these incentives to the border state of Punjab is a clear cut case of bias and step-motherly treatment to the state," he contended.

(Posted on 24-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |