Hyderabad, April 17 IANS | 6 months ago

The TDP-BJP alliance in Seemandhra ran into problems with the regional party fielding candidates from the constituencies allocated to its partner.

Within hours after the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) took strong exception to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielding weak candidates in assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies, leaders of the regional party Thursday filed nominations from at least three assembly constituencies given to the BJP under the seat sharing pact.

The TDP leaders filed papers in Madanapalle, Santhanuthalapadu and Rajahmundry City constituencies even as BJP national spokesperson Prakash Javadekar, who is incharge of party affairs for Andhra Pradesh, is rushing to Hyderabad Thursday for talks with the TDP to save the alliance.

The TDP leaders in Seemandhra or residuary state of Andhra Pradesh are unhappy with the BJP for fielding weak candidates. They feel that this could also mar the TDP's prospects.

TDP chief N. Chandrababu Naidu is reportedly in touch with the BJP's national leaders to solve the problem.

Under the seat sharing pact, which was reached a few days ago after prolong talks between the two parties, the TDP had left eight Lok Sabha and 47 assembly seats in Telangana and five Lok Sabha and 15 assembly seats in Seemandhra.

The TDP leadership had to face ire of its cadres in many constituencies in Seemandhra for allocating them to the BJP.

The national party Wednesday announced candidates for four Lok Sabha and 14 assembly seats. The TDP leaders claim that many of them are weak candidates.

TDP chief Naidu reportedly took exception to the BJP fielding his sister-in-law and former union minister D. Purandeswari from Rajampet parliamentary constituency. Naidu is also not happy with the BJP for not giving Lok Sabha election ticket to his friend and industrialist-turned-politician R. Krishnam Raju from Narsapur. The BJP has fielded G. Ganga Raju from Narsapur.

The BJP leaders in Seemandhra are also unhappy with the attitude of the TDP. They have threatened to field candidates from 25 Lok Sabha and 70 assembly constituencies.

Meanwhile, BJP senior leader M. Venkaiah Naidu said it was no proper for the TDP to reconsider the alliance at this stage.

He told reporters that the Modi factor would help both the parties.

April 19 is the last date for filing of nominations for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats in Seemandhra, which are going to polls May 7.

(Posted on 17-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |