New Delhi, Jan 24 IBNS | 9 months ago

The Supreme Court on Friday issued notice to the Centre and the Delhi government while observing the issue that whether the Chief Minister of a state along with his cabinet colleagues can hold a dharna on the streets in support of his demand, as done by Arvind Kejriwal.

A bench of justices R.M. Lodha and Shivakirti Singh has sent the legal notice acting on a writ petition, filed by advocate Manohar Lal Sharma, that stated whether "law makers could themselves become law breakers."

The petitioner want action against the Chief Minister, who allegedly violated his oath of office.

Earlier, the Delhi Police on Wednesday said they have filed First Information Reports (FIRs) against Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) supporters for disobeying prohibitory orders and holding a two-day dharna at Rail Bhavan.

The FIRs were lodged against unknown people at the Parliament Street police station for violating Section 144 of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), violence and inciting a mob.

However, the police did not name Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in any of the FIRs.

(Posted on 24-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |