Aurangabad, Maharashtra, Apr 16 UNI | 3 months ago

All preparations for tomorrow's polling in Nanded, Hingoli, Prabhani, Beed, Osmanabad and Latur Lok Sabha constituencies in this Marathwada region have been completed.

There are about 147 candidates, including five women, contesting from the six Lok Sabha constituencies of Nanded (23), Hingoli (23), Parbhani (17), Beed (39), Osmanabad (27) and Latur (18).

There are total of 103.31 lakh electorate in all six constituencies, comprising Nanded with 16.86 lakh voters, Hingoli with 15.86 lakh voters, Parbhani with 18.02 lakh voters, Beed with 17.90 lakh voters, Osmanabad with 17.36 lakh voters, and Latur with 16.81 lakh voters, who will exercise their franchise between 0700 hrs to 1800 hrs, according to election official sources from the respective constituencies.

Sources from the respective constituencies further stated that, poll materials including EVMs and stationary distribution to the polling staff is likely to be completed this afternoon.

Polling staff will be dropped at their polling stations concerned in the constituencies by Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation (MSRTC) buses, and at some places by private transport provided by the District administrations with adequate security personnels, they added.

As many as 3,732 Electronic Voting Machines(EVMs) will be used, while 9,330 polling staff will be on duty. 1,866 polling booths, including 9 critical, have been made for smooth polling in Nanded LS constituencies.

In Parbhani, 3,948 EVMs machines, manned by 9,870 polling staff will be used in 1,974 polling booths.

In Hingoli, 3,746 EVMs will be used, while 9,365 polling staff are on duty. There are 1,873 polling booths made, including seven which are identified as critical booths.

In Beed, more than 10,000 polling staff will be on duty, while 6,495 EVMs will be used at 2,165 polling booths, of which 18 are identified as critical.

In Osmanabad, 9,855 polling staff will be on duty, while 3,942 EVMs will used at 1,971 polling booths, including 117 ones identified as critical.

For Latur (reserved) 9,324 polling staff will be on duty, while 3,794 EVMs will used at 1,897 polling booths.

Prominent among the 147 candidates contesting from these six LS constituencies include, BJP national secretary Gopinath Munde contesting from Beed, former CM Ashok Chavan from Nanded, sitting Shiv Sena MP Subhas Wankhede from Hingoli, All India Youth Congress president Rajiv Satav from Hingoli, sitting Osmanabad NCP MP Padmasinh Patil from Osmanabad, Prof Ravi Gaikwad from Osmanabad, and Sena's Bandu Jadhav verses NCP's Vijay Bhamble in Parbhani.

Apart from them AAP, BSP and SP candidates in Hingoli, Nanded, Osmanabad, Beed, and Parbhani are also trying their lucks along with others smaller parties and independent candidates.

While so far, the areas have remained peaceful and no considerably untoward incident was reported from there during the campaigning period, security in the region, particularly in the six LS constituencies, has been stepped up to ensure fair and smooth conduct of elections, police sources said.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)