Ranchi, Jan 24 IANS | 9 months ago

A special Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) court in Jharkhand Friday awarded four years' imprisonment to each of the 12 people convicted in a fodder scam case and slapped fine up to Rs.4 lakh.

The 12 people given imprisonment include former Janata Dal-United (JD-U) Lok Sabha MP Jagdish Sharma. The CBI court slapped a fine of Rs.2 lakh on Sharma.

The court Wednesday had convicted 19 people, of whom seven were sentenced to three years' imprisonment.

The case is related to fraudulent withdrawal of Rs.1.16 crore from the state's Godda district treasury.

There were 30 accused in the case. Six died during the course of the trial, two turned CBI approvers, two admitted their guilty and one is still absconding.

Sharma was also convicted in a fodder scam along with Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Yadav in September 2013. He lost his Lok Sabha membership along with Lalu Yadav after being sentenced to five years' imprisonment.

This was the judgment in the 44th fodder scam case.

Lalu Prasad quit his Bihar chief minister's post in 1997 when his name figured in the fodder scam case probe by the CBI.

The scam surfaced in 1996. Around 54 of the 61 cases were transferred to Jharkhand when it was carved from Bihar in November 2000.

Different CBI courts have passed judgment in more than 43 cases. Lalu Prasad and another former Bihar chief minister, Jagannath Mishra, are accused in five cases.

(Posted on 24-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |