Mumbai, Apr 15 UNI | 4 months ago

The campaigning in 19 parliamentary seats spread over different parts of Maharashtra and which will go to polls in the second phase on April 17 came to an end at 1700 hrs today.

Of the total Lok Sabha constitutencies in the state, six are in the Marathwada region, nine in the Western Maharashtra and two in Konkan.

In all, 358 candidates are contesting on 19 seats in the LS polls.

Prominent candidates in the race are Union Minister Pratik Patil, NCP sitting MPs Supriya Sule, Nilesh Rane, Gopinath Munde and former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan.

Police have put in place elaborate security arrangement for the free and fair conduct of polls at all the poll centres in the state.

(Posted on 15-04-2014)