Ahmedabad, Apr 15 UNI | 4 months ago

Even as there is a direct fight between the BJP and the Congress for the Lok Sabha polls in Gujarat, a total of 32 political parties are contesting the general election on 26 seats in the state.

The small parties have even fielded candidates against BJP veteran L K Advani from Gandhinagar and party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi from Vadodara.

Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist), Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party, Apna Desh Party, Aam Aadmi Party and Janata Dal (United) have fielded candidates from Vadodara.

Besides the BJP and the Congress, other political parties contesting the April 30 elections are Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Samajwadi Party (SP), Janata Dal United (JDU), CPI, Bahujan Mukti Party, Republican Party of India Ektawadi, Bharatiya National Janata Dal, Vishwa Hindustani Sangathan, Hindustan Janata Party, Rashtra Vikas Jhumbesh Party, National Youth Party, Loktantrik Rashtrawadi Party, Akhil Bharatiya Congress Dal (Ambedkar), Bahujan Suraksha Dal, Prajatantra Adhar Party, Hindustan Nirman Dal, Republican Party of India (A), Republican Party of India (Khobragade).

Rashtriya Kaumi Ekta Party, Republican Party (Gavai), Yuva Sarkar, Apna Desh Party, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Socialist Unity Center of India (Communist), Aadivasi Sena Party, Bharatiya Bahujan Congress, Voters Party and Communist Party of India (Marxist, Leninist)(Liberation) are also contesting the general elections from Gujarat.

Several of these smaller parties have fielded single candidate in the state.

(Posted on 15-04-2014)