Hyderabad, Jan 24 IANS | 9 months ago

In another act of open defiance, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy Friday cancelled his visit to Delhi, citing debate on Telangana bill in the state assembly.

Kiran Reddy was summoned by the party leadership for talks to decide candidates for Rajya Sabha elections but he cancelled the visit to the national capital. He had skipped All India Congress Committee (AICC) meeting Jan 17, citing the same reason.

State Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana, however, Friday left for Delhi to meet central leaders to discuss candidates for the ensuing Rajya Sabha polls.

According to sources in the chief minister's office, he informed Congress general secretary Digvijaya Singh over phone that he will not be able to visit Delhi as the debate is going on Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2013 in the state assembly.

The chief minister on several occasions during last three months has questioned the decision to bifurcate the state. Speculations are rife that he is contemplating to float a new political party in Seemandhra.

Kiran Reddy told the assembly Wednesday that he never expected that he would have to choose between the party and the united Andhra Pradesh.

The chief minister's speech remained inconclusive. With the President extending the time for debate on the bill till Jan 30, he is likely to complete his speech next week. He has dropped hints that he would make some dramatic announcement at the end of his speech.

Digvijaya Singh, who is incharge of party affairs in the state, told reporters in the national capital that Kiran Reddy spoke to him. The central leader suggested him that the state assembly send its opinion on the bill as early as possible so that the commitment given to people could be fulfilled.

(Posted on 24-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |