Kolkata, April 14 IANS | 6 months ago

The Election Commission Monday said the district election officer of West Bengal's Coochbehar district is "thoroughly investigating" the seizure of fake voter identity cards in the area.

"We have received a complaint regarding fake voter ids. We are keeping a strict vigil so that such incidents do not happen in the future," assistant chief electoral officer Amitjyoti Bhattacharya told reporters here.

"The guilty will be punished according to law," he said.

Meanwhile, the Communist Party of India-Marxist has lodged a complaint with the Commission against the state Chief Secretary Sanjay Mitra in connnection with the state government order of reinstating the eight officers who were removed from poll duty to their original posts after the election process gets over.

"The complaint will be sent to the Commission in Delhi," said Bhattacharya.

The Election Commission last week ordered transfer of eight officials including five district police chiefs and one district magistrate from their posts.

Initially against executing the order, state Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee later relented. However, she termed the order "political vendetta", and said the officers will be reinstated after the polls.

The CPI-M has deemed the reinstatement as violation of the Model Code of Conduct.

(Posted on 14-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |