Chennai, April 14 IANS | 6 months ago

BJP candidate Muruganandam and at least 30 other people were injured in an attack Monday while they were campaigning in the Thanjavur Lok Sabha constituency in Tamil Nadu, the party said.

Condemning the attack, Bharatiya Janata Party state president Pon. Radhakrishnan said in a statement: "The attack by miscreants was meant to destabilise the party's poll campaign."

Radhakrishnan said around 30 people who were with Muruganandam were injured and around 20 two-wheelers were damaged in the attack.

He said the attack took place in Mallipattinam in Thanjavur district, around 320 km from Chennai.

Radhakrishnan said the party had obtained permission from police for carrying out the campaign, but police did not provide sufficient security.

He urged the authorities to take preventive action in future to curb such attacks as campaigning during an election was a basic democratic right.

Meanwhile, PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss in a statement said attacks on candidates of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Tamil Nadu had increased after the announcement of the general election.

Stating that PMK candidates including himself were attacked while campaigning, Ramadoss urged the Election Commission and police to take action against the attackers and also increase security to NDA candidates.

(Posted on 14-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |