Chandigarh, Apr 12 UNI | 4 months ago

A total 253 candidates remained in the electoral battle for 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab as 27 candidates have withdrawn their nomination on April 11 and 12.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Supreet Singh Gulati today said 455 nominations were filed by the 350 candidates, which were reduced to 280 after the scrutiny of nominations.

He further said now after the withdrawal of nominations on April 11 and 12, 253 candidates would contest for 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab.

He said Hoshiarpur Parliamentary Constituency have 17 candidates, Ludhiana 22, Fatehgarh Sahib 15, Ferozpur 15, Gurdaspur 13, Anandpur Sahib 18, Khadoor Sahib 17, Patiala

20, Sangrur 21,Bathinda 29, Faridkot 19, Jalandhar 24 and Amritsar 23. Bathinda parliamentary constituency have maximum 29 contesting candidates whereas in Gurdaspur only 13 candidates remained in the fray.

Independent candidate Simarjeet Singh Bains from Ludhiana constituency has been allotted Letter Box as election symbol and Mr. Simaranjit Singh Mann SAD-A was allotted Hockey and Ball.

(Posted on 13-04-2014)