New Delhi, April 12 IANS | 7 months ago

Four young Indian tennis players will head to Wimbledon to play on the world famous grass courts as part of a new initiative aimed at boosting junior tennis in the country.

Earlier this year, the Wimbledon Foundation, The Championships and official partner HSBC teamed up with the All India Tennis Association (AITA) to bring 'The Road to Wimbledon' to India for the first time.

The initiative is designed to give Under-14 players the opportunity to improve their game.

Following a series of qualifying events involving more than 200 children, two boys -- winner Adil Kalyanpur from Bangalore and runner-up Siddhant Banthia of Pune -- plus two girls -- winner Shivani Ingle from Pune and runner-up Aarja Chakraborty from Noida -- have booked their dream ticket to London.

The four youngsters will now take their place alongside the best juniors from Britain in a 64 strong field at the UK HSBC National Finals at Wimbledon Aug 11-16.

All England Club chairman Philip Brook said: "Indian tennis players have a great history at The Championships and through the work of the Road to Wimbledon, we hope India's junior tennis players will be similarly inspired to emulate their illustrious forebears. We look forward to welcoming the four players to the lawns of the All England Club in August."

(Posted on 12-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |