Hyderabad, April 12 IANS | 2 years ago

The Election Commission of India Saturday issued notification for the second phase of elections in Andhra Pradesh, scheduled to be held May 7.

With this the process is set in motion for elections to 175 assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in 13 districts of Seemandhra, as Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra regions are together called.

According to the notification, April 19 is the last date for filing of nominations. However, the candidates will get only five days to file the nominations due to three holidays.

The scrutiny of nominations will take place April 21. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 23. The polling will be held May 7.

Though Andhra Pradesh will be formally divided into two separate states in June, the Election Commission is conducting the polls in the undivided state.

Telangana and Andhra Pradesh (Seemandhra) will come into being as separate states on June 2.

Elections to 119 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled April 30. The deadline for withdrawal of nominations in Telangana ended Saturday.

(Posted on 12-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries