Bhubaneswar, Apr 11 UNI | 3 months ago

Odisha unit of the BJP today dubbed the poll boycott of Chikili villagers in Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik's Hinjli Assembly constituency as a clear reflection of the failure of the 14 years rule of the BJD government in the state.

Around 500 voters of the Chikili village under Sheragada block's Takarada Gram panchayat did not cast their vote yesterday in protest against non-construction of a road to their village. All of them stayed away from voting yesterday.

As many as 70 Assembly Constituency including Hinjli and 10 Parliamentary constituency went to polls in the first phase of polling in Odisha yesterday.

BJP Spokesman Sajjan Sharma told newspersons here that people in Chief Minister's constituency were deprived of the basic amenities even after 14 years rule of Naveen Patnaik government.

Mr Sharma said thousands of crores of rupees had been pumped to the state under the PMGSY since the NDA period but the state government had failed to implement it as many panchayats in the state are yet to be connected with the pacca road.

Mr Sharma said in Kandhamal also around four thousand voters in five booths in Tumudibandh and Raikia block boycotted the polls yesterday on the same issue.

The BJP leader said the boycott of the poll by the villagers had proved that the state government failed to undertake any development work in villages and described it as a danger to democracy.

Mr Sharma said during the 14 years rule, the Chief Minister had held several important portfolios like Home, Works, General Administration and Water Resources yet several areas in the state still lacked development and the there has been a sharp rise of atrocities on women and farmers suicide.

(Posted on 12-04-2014)