Kolkata, April 11 IANS | 7 months ago

Three people have been arrested so far in conjunction with the alleged assault of Election Commission officials by Trinamool Congress activists in West Bengal's Malda district, a poll official said Friday.

"Three of those who who were named in the FIRs have been arrested and the detailed report will be sent by the DGP (director general of police) to the commission," chief electoral officer Sunil Gupta told reporters.

The incident happened in Manikchak area in the district, when the officials objected to a motorbike rally being taken out in support of the party's candidate from Malda South, Moajjim Hussain, as such rallies are prohibited.

As soon as the officials protested, several Trinamool activists assaulted them.

"The party workers had not taken any police permission for the rally and there were about 250-300 bikes in the rally despite this being prohibited. When we tried to stop them, several Trinamool activists assaulted and abused us. They even broke our camera. We are feeling apprehensive doing our work for the EC," said one of the assaulted officials, Ajit Das.

Though he was caught on camera, Hussain denied his presence at the site.

The Election Commission has sought a detailed report from the West Bengal police chief.

The panel has Thursday received the report about the incident from the district administration and two first information reports (FIRs) were filed on the same day regarding the assault on officials and unauthorised bikes.

The incident occurred a day after Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, speaking at a rally, vowed to avenge the "insult" inflicted by the EC when it ordered the state government to transfer eight officials.

Earlier, the block development officer of Habra in North 24 Parganas district alleged that he was assaulted and insulted by the Trinamool activists for removing Banerjee's banners and posters. In Howrah, an election team was attacked by Trinamool workers for removing the party flags.

(Posted on 11-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |