Bhubaneswar,Apr 11 UNI | 4 months ago

Repolling would be held in 22 polling booths, where voting could not be held or was had been disrupted during the first phase of election in Odisha yesterday.

Elections to 10 Parliamentary constituencies and 70 Assembly seats in Odisha were held yesterday. Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Mona Sharma today said repolling would be held at 15 booths in Maoist-dominated Malkangiri district,two booths each in Koraput and Kandhamal and one each in Baragarh, Jharsuguda and Sambalpur, due to EVM related problems.

The CEO said as per the information reached so far an estimated 75 per cent voters have exercised their franchise in the first phase of elections at Odisha yesterday. Malkangiri, a hot bed of extremists, reported more than 70 per cent polling. Nabarangpur, another Maoist-hit area, recorded the highest polling of 81.89 per cent, followed by Jharsuguda-- 80 per cent. The lowest polling of 65 per cent was reported from Ganjam.

Dr Sharma said repolling would be held in Kumbhara (Polling station 27) under Bijepur Assembly Constituency, Dipupada-1 (Polling station-50) under Jharsuguda Assembly Constituency, Asrubahal (Polling station-87) under Athmalaik Assembly Constituency, Kumbharapada (Polling Station-248) under Bhanjanagar Assembly Constituency, Khalmara (Polling Station 148)under Daspalla Assembly Constituency, Madakar (Polling station-83) under Pattangi Assembly constituency and at Pujariput (Polling station-192) under Kotpada Assembly Constituency due to EVM related problem.

This apart repolling would also be held in 15 booths of the Naxal-affected Malkangiri district, she said.

(Posted on 11-04-2014)