Gandhinagar, Apr 11 UNI | 3 months ago

The Election Commission has appointed two general observers for as many Lok Sabha constituencies of Ahmedabad.

According to the EC officials here, Dr Lalit Mehra has been appointed a general observer for Ahmedabad (East) and Mridula Sinha has been appointed for Ahmedabad (west) LS constituency.

Ahmedabad (West) is a reserved seat (SC) and it includes areas like Ellisbridge, Amraivadi, Dariapur, Jamalpur-Khadia, Maninagar, Danilimda and Asarava.

Ahmedabad (East) is an open category seat and it includes Vatava, Nikol, Naroda, Thakkarbapanagar, Bapunagar, Dahegam and Gandhinagar (South). The candidates and general public would be able to contact the general observer of their constituency for information regarding the election, the official added.

BJP candidate and film actor Paresh Raval is being challenged by Congress 'Himmatsinh Patel in Ahmedabad (East), whereas BJP's Dr Kiritisinh Solanki is contesting against Congress' Ishwar Makwana in Ahmedabad (west) Lok Sabha constituencies.

(Posted on 11-04-2014)