Patna, April 11 IANS | 6 months ago

Samrat Choudhary, an RJD legislator who tried to defect, Friday challenged RJD chief Lalu Prasad, saying he cannot be the party president as per the constitution of the party as he was convicted in the multi-crore fodder scam.

"Lalu Prasad cannot be the RJD chief because the constitution of the party has made it clear that any convicted person cannot become the party president," Choudhary told mediapersons here.

"I will approach the election commission and seek its intervention to cancel the nomination papers of the RJD candidates in view of the fact that the symbol of the party was distributed with the signature of a convicted Lalu Prasad," Choudhary said.

However, Lalu Prasad said that Choudhary has betrayed the RJD and is one of the defector legislators.

"He has gone mad," he said.

Choudhary was chief whip of the RJD in the assembly before he revolted in February when he handed over a letter with the signatures of 13 legislators stating they were quitting the RJD to the Bihar assembly speaker and requested to be recognised as a separate group.

The speaker recognised them as a separate group, creating a controversy following which Lalu alleged that he acted in violation of the anti-defection law.

Nine of the 13 legislators later returned to Lalu's fold.

(Posted on 11-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |