Jaipur, Apr 9 UNI | 4 months ago

As many as 17 contestants including Kashmiri Gujjar leader Qamar Rabbani Chechi withdrew from the fray for the April 24 Lok Sabha polls in five constituencies of Rajasthan.

Mr Chechi who filed his nominations as Independent from Alwar withdrew from the fray today.

Union Minister Jitendra Singh, BJP nominee former MLA Mahant Chandnath Yogi and 17 others were now left in the fray after the expiry of deadline for withdrawals this afternoon.

Now, a total of 81 contestants are in the fray on the five seats--Alwar, Dausa(ST), Bharatpur(SC),
Karauli-Dholpur(SC) and Tonk-Sawai Madhopur.

Prominent among contestants are Union Ministers Jitendra Singh (Alwar) and Namo Narain Meena(Dausa-ST), his brother Harish Meena (Dausa-BJP), Meena strong man Dr Kirodi Lal Meena(Dausa-NPP), Team India former Skipper Mohammad Azharuddin(Congress), Dr Kirodi Meena's brother Jagmohan and Gujjar strongman Haryana former MLA Sukhbir Jaunpuria-BJP(All hree from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur. There are a total of 25 Lok Sabha seats from Rajasthan, the Polling for 20 seats would be held in the first phase on April 17.

(Posted on 09-04-2014)