Bhubaneswar, Apr 9 UNI | 4 months ago

The performance of the Naveen Patnaik government and the Modi wave will be put to test as ten Lok Sabha and 70 Assembly seats in Southern and Western Odisha,mostly naxal-dominated areas, go to polls tomorrow in the first phase.

BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik, the lone campaigner of the BJD which ruled the state for the last 14 years, will set a new record in the political history of Odisha if the BJD romps home to victory for the fourth time in a row in the Assembly elections.

Earlier, Congress led J B Pattnaik government had the distinction of serving the state for 14 years but not in a row. The BJD chief who had already scored a hattrick in ruling the state since 2000 Assembly elections,will add another record in the history of electoral politics if he leads the BJD to victory in the 2014 elections, for the fourth consecutive time.

Tomorrow's election will decide the electoral fortune of 98 Lok Sabha candidates and 673 Assembly candidates who are pitted in multi-cornered contest in 10 Lok Sabha seats and 70 Assembly seats, spread over 19 of the total 30 districts in the state.

Prominent leaders whose fate will be sealed in tomorrow's ballots are Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, former CMs Hemananda Biswal and Giridhar Gamango, former Union minister Chandra Sekhar Sahu,Bhakta Das,Dillip Ray and Juel Oram, Rajya Sabha MP and former Indian Hockey captain Dillip Tirkey, BJP state president K V Singdeo and five council of ministers of the Naveen Patnaik government.

A total 1,36,46,989 electorate, including 66,62,309 female voters, would exercise their franchise in 17266 polling booths of which 1601 have been identified as most vulnerable in view of the Maoist menace.

While only six female candidates are in the fray for the 10 Lok Sabha seats, 52 have joined the fray in 70 Assembly seats, representing only 8.6 per cent of the total candidates.

The ten Lok Sabha seats going to poll tomorrow are -Kalahandi, Nabarangpur,Koraput,Bolangir,Sambalpur, Sundargarh,Berhampur, Aska,Bargarh and Kandhmal.

Chief Electoral Office(CEO) sources here said out of 70 Assembly constituencies,polling will be held from 0700 hours to 1600 hours in 54 constituencies and in the rest 16 constituencies it would be between 0700 hours to 1800 hours.

All the assembly segments in Bolangir,Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Koraput and Kandhmal Lok Sabha constituencies will have polling time from 0700 hours to 1600 hours as these areas are treated as Maoist affected areas.Some assembly segments of Berhampur,Aska, Sambalpur,Bargarh and Sundargarh will also have polling time between 0700 hours to 1600 hours

The autohrities have deployed nearly 235 companies of police personnel, including 147 companies of para military forces, and pressed three helicopters for smooth conduct of the elections.

(Posted on 09-04-2014)