Aurangabad, Maharashtra, Apr 9 UNI | 4 months ago

As many as 15 candidates withdrew the nomination papers on last day today from the Aurangabad and Jalna LS constituencies in Marathwada region of Maharashtra.

Out of eight constituencies in the region, polls will be held for six on April 17, while Aurangabad and Jalna will go to polls on April 24, in the second phase of the three-phased elections in the state.

A total of 79 candidates had filed their nomination papers till the last date of filing, out of which 15 had been rejected during the scrutiny and 64 found valid, sources in the district election office here said. On the last date of nomination withdrawals today, a total of 15 candidates withdrew their nominations. Following which, 49 remained in the poll race. These included 27 from Aurangabad and 22 from Jalna, they said. Among those who withdrew from the fray, 10 are from Aurangabad and five from Jalna, they said.

After withdrawal of nomination, these constituencies are set to witness a triangular fight. Sitting Shiv Sena MP Chandrkant Khaire from Aurangabad, sitting BJP MP Raosaheb Danve from Jalna, Congress' Nitin Patil from Aurangabad and Vilas Autade from Jalna, AAP's Subhas Lomtae from Aurangabad and Dilip Mhaske from Jalna, besides SP, BSP, BRP-BBM and Independents are now in fray to try their luck.

(Posted on 09-04-2014)