Karachi, Apr 8 ANI | 7 months ago

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Sethi has claimed that Pakistan missed out on a 'major' opportunity to be the part of a 'Big Four' group proposed by India, Australia and England after Mohammad Zaka Ashraf took over as chief from him for a brief period.

In February this year, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif removed Ashraf as chairman of the board, appointing an 11-member committee, headed by former interim PCB chief Sethi, to run the affairs of the PCB.

According to The Dawn, Sethi said that the 'Big Three' offered them an opportunity to join them and become the 'Big Four', although he added that it is unfortunate that the talks he started with the three countries were not pursued further by the PCB when he 'was not around'.

Stating that Pakistan is now left with nothing, Sethi further said that it was India who made that offer, adding that they would not make any money until and unless they play with India given that every other board is toeing the line set by the powerful Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Pakistan abstained from the voting in the ICC Board meeting in February in which the three biggest cricketing nations - India, Australia and England - got a majority of the powers in the sport's governing body, securing 9 votes from the 10 full members, the report added.

(Posted on 08-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |