Ahmedabad, Apr 8 UNI | 4 months ago

The process of filing of nomination papers for the Lok Sabha elections will come to an end tomorrow in Gujarat.

A total of 268 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the Lok Sabha polls since the filing of nominations started on April 2.

Those who have filed their nominations included BJP veteran L K Advani, Bollywood actor and BJP leader Paresh Rawal and Congress leader and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Shankarsinh Vaghela and Congress national general secretary Madhusudan Mistry.

Yesterday, 151 candidates filed their nomination papers from Gujarat for the ongoing Lok Sabha elections.

Chief Minister and BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi will file his nomination papers from Vadodara Lok Sabha seat tomorrow.

Congress national spokesperson and former Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Shaktisinh Gohil will file his nomination from Abdasa Assembly seat in Kutch region.

The process of filing of nominations for bypolls to seven Assembly seats will also be completed tomorrow.

A total of 59 candidates have filed nominations for the bypolls to seven Assembly seats, voting for which will be held with the general elections on April 30. Scrutiny of nominations will be done on April 10.

Last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 12. Counting of votes will be held on May 16.

Gujarat has 26 Lok Sabha seats.

(Posted on 08-04-2014)