Amritsar, Apr 7 IBNS | 7 months ago

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Arun Jaitley on Monday filed his nominations papers for the Lok Sabha polls from the Amritsar seat.

"I believe that our party is going to register a huge victory," Jaitley told media.

"Last few years have seen the Central government at its worst. Once, we are voted into power, we have to rebuild the country," he said.

Before filing his nomination papers, Jaitley visited the Golden Temple to seek the almighty's blessings.

Meanwhile, about 72.5 percent turnout was witnessed in Assam while neighbouring Tripura recorded a high 83 percent polling on Monday as the world's biggest democratic exercise- the general elections in India- began with the balloting in six Lok Sabha constituencies in two northeastern states.

According to officials, Tripura witnessed 83 percent turnout till the polling ended at 5 pm. The total electorate for the Tripura West seat that went to polls on Monday was 12,46,794.

The polling was peaceful in Left Front ruled Tripura and no untoward incident was reported as since more long queues were seen as voters came out in large numbers to exercise their franchise. Tripura East will witness polling on Apr 12.

In Congress-ruled Assam the polling was held in Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seats. A total of 51 candidates were in the fray. Till 5 pm, about 72.5 percent turnout was witnessed, an official of the state election department told IBNS.

The figure is likely to go up, he said. The total number of voters in Assam in these five seats is 6.4 million.

Assam will vote in two more phases on April 12 and April 24.

The vote in two states of Northeast heralded a nine-phase parliamentary elections till May 12 in which the ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA) led by the Congress is challenged by a determined Hindu nationalist BJP that has named Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi as its PM candidate.

After Apr 7, voting will be held on Apr 9, Apr 10, Apr 12, Apr 17, Apr 24, Apr 30, May 7 and May 12 across a total of 543 parliamentary constituencies.

Counting will take place on May 16. The term of 15th Lok Sabha expires on May 31.

(Posted on 07-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |