Tokyo, April 7 IANS | 7 months ago

The US will deploy two more destroyers equipped with anti-missile systems in Japan prior to 2017 in response to the recent provocations by North Korea, US Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel said Sunday.

In response to North Korea's "pattern of provocative and destabilising actions" that violate UN resolutions, Hagel - at a Tokyo press conference with Japanese counterpart Itsunori Onodera - said that Washington will move to provide more protection against those threats, raising the size of the US anti-missile fleet deployed in Japan to seven.

Washington's decision comes after the North Korean regime on March 26 launched two medium-range Rodong ballistic missiles.

UN Security Council resolutions expressly prohibit Pyongyang from launching any missiles with ballistic capabilities or using such technology.

The Japanese government last Thursday - without making it public until a day later - activated the existing protocol to neutralise possible missiles fired from North Korea, a move that includes deploying the destroyer Kirishima, which is equipped with the Aegis missile interception system, in the Sea of Japan.

After a period of relative calm, tensions in the region have increased with the joint military Foal Eagle exercises, which Seoul and Washington began in South Korean territory in late February and which are slated to continue until mid-April.

North Korea, who considers those maneuvers to be a "rehearsal for invasion," in recent weeks has conducted a series of short- and medium-range rocket and ballistic missile launches in what are seen as acts of protest against the military maneuvers.

(Posted on 07-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |