Mumbai, Apr.4 ANI | 2 years ago

A Mumbai court, in a landmark judgement, has handed down a death sentence to three convicts involved in the Shakti Mill gangrape case.

It is for the first time in the history of independent India that convicts who have committed rape, have been punished with death penalty.

This becomes the first conviction in the country under the amended law, introduced on the suggestions of the Justice Verma Committee in the wake of the December 16, 2012 Delhi gang rape.

The court found all the three accused rapists to be repeat offenders who not only raped the photojournalist but also that of a telephone operator.

The court termed the rapes to be diabolic in nature and not natural, it also added that the rapsists enjoyed the victims helplessness while committing such gruesome act.

All the three convicts have been charged under Section 376 (E) of the Indian Penal Code.

On March 20, the sessions court convicted five adults, including Mohammad Ashfak Shaikh and Siraj Sheikh, of the gang rapes of a telephone operator and the photojournalist on the Shakti Mills compound last year. Of the five, Jadhav, Bengali and Ansari were involved in both cases.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries