New Delhi, April 4 IANS | 7 months ago

The sports ministry Friday asked the Indian cricket board why non-regular venues in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) were selected ahead of regular ones for Indian Premier League (IPL) matches and what steps are being taken to check match-fixing and betting.

The ministry in a letter to Ratnakar Shetty, chief administrator of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), said the responsibility of dealing with betting and match-fixing during IPL will rest with BCCI.

The letter was in response to Shetty's missive to the ministry dated March 20 for obtaining permission to host the first-leg of the IPL in UAE due to general elections at home. UAE, which has a significant Indian diaspora, will host 20 IPL matches April 16-30. The IPL will, however, return to India from May 2 for the remaining 36 matches.

The ministry asked the BCCI to reply by April 10 why "a non-regular venue has been selected for holding some matches of IPL-2014 instead of choosing a venue which is on the regular international calendar of the ICC".

The government had banned the national team for playing in Sharjah, one of the three IPL venues in UAE, in the wake of the match-fixing scandal in 2001. Dubai and Abu Dhabi are the two other IPL venues.

The ministry also asked BCCI what mechanisms have been put in place to ensure that unethical practices like betting and match-fixing, etc. do not take place during this year IPL.

Last year's edition was plagued with allegations of match-fixing and betting that saw two cricketers being banned for life and BCCI president Narayanaswami Srinivasan forced to step down by the Supreme Court.

The ministry also asked the BCCI how much licence fees it has paid to ICC for this year's IPL.

The ministry also made it clear that the BCCI is required to contribute towards the National Sports Development Fund (NSDF).

"The amount of contribution to NSDF may please be specified which may be based on either the percentage of profit from IPL 2014 or consolidated lump sum," the ministry letter read.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |