Bhubaneswar, Apr 04 UNI | 4 months ago

The Election Commission has replaced three district collectors and one DIG following the complaints of bias and violation of model code of conduct lodged by political parties.

The Election Commission shifted Kendrapara Collector Ratnakar Rout, Khordha Collector Niranjan Sahu and Nabarangpur Collector S S Nayak last night.

The Commission also removed DIG Southern Range Amitabh Thakur after political parties made allegations against him.

Labour Commissioner Shalini Pandit was asked to take over the charge of Khordha district in place of Nirajan Sahu, Excise Commissioner Nitin Bhandu Das Jawale would replace Kendrapara District Collector Ratnakar Rout.

Malkangiri DRDA Project Director Sadiq Alam has been posted as Nabarangpur Collector in place of S S Nayak.

The officers were replaced a day after the representatives of the Congress and BJP told the Commissioner that these officers were not discharging their duties impartially.

Election Commissioner H S Brahma had assured the parties that action would be taken against the officers within 48 hours if they were found guilty during verification by the Commission.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)