Imphal, Apr 4 UNI | 4 months ago

The Manipur State Congress Party(MSCP) has merged with the Congress.

Five MLAs of MSCP have also joined the Congress, rasing its strength to 47 in the 60-member Assembly.

The merger was effected yesterday after day-long negotiation and protest at the Congress office. The Congress had issued a formal invitation for the merger at 1030 hrs after the MSCP leaders and MLAs came to Congress office after 10 am.

A revolt ensued within the MSCP with leaders and workers of the constituencies of the five MLAs opposing the merger. Most MSCP MLAs had been denied Congress ticket and had fought as MSCP candidates defeating Congress nominees.

Chief Minister O Ibobi arrived at around 1300 hrs. He went straight to the room of party president Gaikhangam. After hours of negotiation the merger was announced late yesterday by Gaikhangam.

The five MSCP legislators are Paonam Brojen (Wangjing Tentha), Janghemlung Panmei (Tamenglong), Karam Thamarjit (Keirao), Nemcha Kipgen (Kangpokpi) and RK Imo (Sagolband).

MSCP working president Kh Devabratta and other party workers also joined the Congress.

The MSCP was formed in 1997 by Wahengbam Nipamacha. Some leaders have stated that they will not take part in the merger.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)