Chandigarh, Apr 3 UNI | 4 months ago

Fine batting by Gautam Gambhir (40, 5x4s, 1x6), Virender Sehwag (67, 13x4s) and Sumit Narwal (42, 4x4s, 2x6s) paved the way for Delhi to beat Punjab by six wickets and one over and four balls to spare in the North Zone T20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali today. Chasing a taregt of 175 runs for victory, Delhi surpassed Punjab's total of 174 for 7 in 18.2 by scoring 178 for 4.

Openers Gautam Gambhir and Sehwag gave Delhi a comfortable start by putting on 78 runs in 6.4 overs before Gambir was caught by Manpreet Gony of the bowling of Rahul Sharma. Sumit Narwal joined Sehwag and they took the total of 142 in 12.6 overs before Sehwag was run out. This pair
contributed 65 runs for the second wicket stand.

Delhi then lost two quick wickets of Narwal (158 for 3) and Mithun Manhas (9, 159 for 4). Unmukt Chand (14 not out) and Rajat Bhatia (4 not out) got the required runs for victory. They realised 19 runs for the unbroken fifth wicket stand.

Earlier, Delhi won the toss and asked Punjab to bat first. Manan Vohra (41, 2x4s) and Mandeep Singh (36, 2x4s, 1x6) put on 59 runs in 5.3 overs before Manan Vohra made his exit, caught by Varun Sood of the bowling of Awana. New comber Punjab captan Harbhajan Singh (16, 3x4s) and Mandeep were associated in a 30 runs stand for second wicket.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)