Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

Chess: Debasish clinch title

Posted on Apr 03 2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, Apr 3 : Debasish Mukherjee was chasing the dream since 2003, when he lost the coveted state title by whisker to Swapan Mitra.

Overnight leader Debasish, a chess coach by profession, was determined this time not to be derailed from the dream. He was very calculative in last few rounds.

And on Thursday in the final round climax reached to unexpected height when Debarshi Mukherjee won his last round game against Kunal Chattejee.

After Debarshi's win Debasish had no option but to win vs 12 years boy Rajdeep and he did it to annex his dream.

He did it by virtue of better tie-break score, Debarshi had to satisfy with runners up title.

By winning the title Debasish became richer by Rs. 21,000 and Debarshi by Rs. 15,000.

Unfortunate Anurag (7), who missed the 9th round by mistake, lost the final one to Kaustav Bhattacharjee (8) and thus he missed the Bengal team bus of four to represent in the forthcoming National Challengers.

There were lots of ups and down today in the penultimate round (9th) of the 52nd State Chess (senior) Championship, in collaboration with Kolkata District Chess Association, held at Kalatan Community Centre, Gangulybagan.

Kunal Chattejee , who was derailed in the 7th round on Wednesday by Debashis Mukherjee, bounced back with superlative wins over Dyutimoy Mukherjee and Laltu Chatterjee in the following rounds to keep himself as the title contender. Overnight leader Debashis Mukherjee took no time to split point with Sarbojit Paul. Owing to misunderstanding another overnight leader Anurag Jaiswal failed to turn up in the penultimate round and by law he had to concede valuable point to his ninth round opponent promising boy Rajdeep Sarkar.

Thus, after the end of ninth round, Rajdeep, Kunal and Debarshi Mukherjee jumped to join the leader Debasish with 7.5 points each. Anurag, Kaustav Kundu and Kaustav Chatterjee were in the joint second position along with five others.

Four young girls Angira Chowdhury, Shyamashree Sarkar, Mehendi Sil and Asmita Das showed lots of promise here in the State Senior Chess. In absence of Chandreye Hazra, Arpita Mukherjee and Khushi Dharewa, they kept their male contestants on the heels to earn points. At the end of the final and 10th round Shyamashree, Asmita, Angira and Mehendi got creditable 6.5, 6.5, 6 and 5.5 points respectively.

Latest News: