Kolkata, Apr 3 UNI | 4 months ago

Manoj Tiwary's unbeaten 67 and blistering 37-ball 54 from Wriddiman Saha powered Bengal to beat Jharkhand by 8 wickets and Assam registered its second consecutive victory defeating Tripura by 11 runs in east zone chapter of Syed Mustaq Ali T20 cricket here today.

In a keenly contested play at Jadavpur University ground Assam, a day after defeating strong contender Odisha, grabbed four more points (total 8 points) after ousting minnows Tripura by 11 runs.

Electing to bat Assam piled up 152 all out in 19.4 overs with Shibshankar Roy scoring highest 53 in 36 balls and captain Gokul Sharma added 35 and then their bowlers restricted Tripura 141 for loss eight wickets, just short of 11 runs.

Abu Nechim took 4 for 21 and Jamaluddin Syed Mohammed fired for the second day taking two wickets in 27 runs. Yogesh Takawale's 36, and 24 from Nirupam Sen and unbeaten 22 from Tushar Saha were not enough for Tripura against the ominous exit.

Bengal's win against Jharkhand at Eden Gardens marked their second win in this tournament after the winning campaign against Assam.

Electing to bat after winning the toss Jharkhand did good with surface scoring moderate 152 for 9 in 20 overs after opener Ishank Jaggi hit 33, Kumar Deobrat's 24 and Rahul Shukla not out 17. Sourav Tiwary scored only 15.

But the host Bengal eyeing for a qualifying berth hit out in rapidity eclipsing the target with 11 balls to spare conceding only two wickets.

Wriddhiman Saha was more aggressive and hit 54 in 37 balls with 7 boundaries and a sixer and Manoj Tiwari not out on 62 in 52 balls with six boundaries and a sixer.

(Posted on 03-04-2014)