Chandigarh, Apr 2 UNI | 4 months ago

Delhi defeated Jammu and Kashmir by six wickets and one over to spare in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Sectorm 16 Cricket Stadium here today. The win gave Delhi four points.

Delhi captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and put Jammu and Kashmir in to bat. The Delhi bowlers restricted Jammu and Kashmir innings to 119 for 8 in stipulated 20 overs. Parvez Rasool played a defiant knock of 44 which contained three boundaries and one six. PA Sharma and Samiullah Beig contributed 16 and 15 run, respectively.

VJ Sood of Delhi contained the Jammu and Kashmir batsmen with a fine line and length. He capture three wickets for 14 runs. All-rounder RG Bhatia got 2 for 26.

Delhi openers Gautam Gambhir (6) and Virender Sehwag (22, 5x4s) contributed 29 runs for the opening wicket stand before Gambhir was bowled by Ahanger.

UB Chand top-scored with 39 runs, studded with four hits to the fence. He and Mithun Minhas (17) realised 28 runs in 23 balls. This third wicket partnership was broken by WM Paray who got Manhas stumed by Reshi.

RG Bhatia remained not out on 28 (2x4s, 1x6). Milin Kumar was undefeated at 7 as Delhi achieved their target by scoring 123 for 4.

Brief scores: Jammu and Kashmir: 119 for 8 in 20 overs (Parvez Rasool 44, 3x4s, 1x6, PA Sharma 16, Samiullah Beig 15, VJ Sood 3 for 14, RG Bhatia 2 for 26, SY Narwal 1 for 29, PB Awana 1 for 19). Delhi: 123 for 4 in 19 overs (Virender Sehwag 22, UB Chand 39, 4x4s, Mithun Manhas 17, RG Bhatia not out 28, 2x4s, 1x6, Milind Kumar not out 7, AG Ahanger 2 for 35, Ram Dayal Punia 1 for 9, WM Paray 1 for 22).

(Posted on 02-04-2014)